Confetti! Awards for Goebbels and Fujikura

Confetti! Awards for Goebbels and Fujikura

Heiner Goebbels wins the 12th German Music Authors' Prize

With his genre-busting stage works, composer Heiner Goebbels has been thrilling audiences and the press for many years and has set the standard for “musical theatre” through his approach. Now, Heiner Goebbels has been awarded German music collection society GEMA’s Music Authors’ Prize for the “Composition Musical Theatre” category. We look forward to his new work A House of Call – my imaginary notebook in Summer 2021, which will see its premiere in Berlin with the Ensemble Modern Orchestra and is to be played at many other venues. 

Dai Fujikura honored with the 33rd Music Pen Club Award

Japanese composer Dai Fujikura received honors not only for his compositions, but also for his curatorial work for the Born Creative Festival in Tokyo. The Music Pen Club Japan is an association for music critics and journalists and awarded the prize for the “contemporary music” category to Dai Fujikura. His new work Bliss for the ensemble via nova, Miet+ and Asian Art Ensemble will see its premiere this May in Weimar, the Quartet Amabile is to play Aquarius on 13 April 2021 (in front of an audience!), and two weeks later the world premiere of his Koto Concerto will follow – also in Tokyo and in front of an audience (yes really, no stream!). On 6 April 2021, the Austrian premiere of his opera Solaris took place at the Neue Oper Wien – this time, unfortunately, without an audience. However, a stream is planned for May.

Picture of Solaris by Dai Fujikura
Austrian premiere of Solaris (Neue Oper Wien)


Aquarius (2020)

String quartet
13.04.21 (WP), Tokyo (Hakuju Hall)
Quartet Amabile

Koto Concerto (2020)

Version for Koto and Orchestra
30.04.21 (WP), Tokyo (Suntory Hall)
The Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra, Leo Konno (koto), Masato Suzuki (cond.) 

Bliss (2021)

for sheng, daegeum, koto, violin, viola, cello und double bass
23.05.21 (WP), Weimar (22. Weimarer Frühjahrstage 2021)
Members of ensemble via nova, MIET+ und Asian Art Ensemble, Il-Ryun Chung (mus. cond.)
Co-commissioned by the ensembles Asian Art Ensemble, ensemble via nova und Miet+, supported by the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung

Solaris (2013)

Opera in 4 Acts (based on Stanisław Lem’s novel “SOLARIS”)
Libretto: Saburo Teshigawara 
06.04.2021 (NP), Stream im Mai 2021, Neue Oper Wien
Walter Kobéra (art. dir.), Helen Malkowsky (staging)

Pictures: Kevin Riedl (Goebbels), Seiji Okumiya (Fujikura), Armin Bardel (Solaris)