Vacchi: Quartetto n.6

Vacchi: Quartetto n.6

«A string quartet explicitly based on Bach's The Art of Fugue to celebrate twenty wonderful years of Quartetto di Cremona». This is the next Fabio Vacchi's world premiere, performed by Quartetto di Cremona, commissioned by Società del Quartetto di Milano and Quartetto di Cremona, with the participation of Fondazione Musica Insieme Bologna, Associazione Scarlatti di Napoli, Società del Quartetto di Vicenza and Teatro Comunale di Monfalcone, written during the first Italian lockdown.

The concert's stream will be available starting from February 21st. The musical program includes Quartetto n.6, Lettera a J. S. Bach by Fabio Vacchi and The Art of Fugue, for a direct dialogue between historical and contemporary languages. 

Composer's notes

[...] This Letter is my humble sing to Bach, wishing he could lead us towards a new change, which is necessary after having discovered so much more since his age. The various sections of rigoroous counterpoint are introduced, interspersed and closed with episodes more similar to preludes, following the inner lyric nature of the original musical material, of the instrumentation, of the interpretation (which is strictly connected to the creation of this work, since I know very well features and qualities of Quartetto di Cremona), ending up in the final synthesis.

Excerpt from the full Italian version
"Lettera a J.S. Bach, il lockdown e l'armonia universale"


Listen to previous string quartets by Fabio Vacchi

Peruse the scores on nkoda


Photo: Running / Quartetto di Cremona / Nikolaj Lund