Ettore Majorana. Cronache d’infinite scomparse

Ettore Majorana. Cronache d’infinite scomparse

September 28 marks the world premiere of Ettore Majorana. Cronache d’infinite scomparse, featuring music by Roberto Vetrano, and book by Stefano Simone Pintor, at the Teatro Sociale, in Como. It’s also the opening performance of the 2017-2018 OperaLombardia season, which features concerts in 5 traditional Lombardian theaters.
This opera revisits the story of Italian theoretical physicist Ettore Majorana 80 years after his disappearance. Taking a cue from his theories of elementary particles, nuclear forces and antimatter – which to this day are still being studied – the detective twist comes to the fore. But new solutions in terms of artistic development and language make use of a whole stockpile of tools, in which we see science and music, which follows mathematical and physical laws, pitted against each other.  

Performances 2017: September 29 and 30, Teatro Sociale, Como; October 6, Teatro Sociale, Bergamo; October 13 and 15, Teatro Grande, Brescia; October 19 and 20, Teatro Ponchielli, Cremona; November 16 and 18, Teatro Fraschini, Pavia. Performances 2018: Teatro Sociale, Trento; Theater Magdeburg (Germany); Palau de les Arts Reina Sofía Valencia (Spain).

Ettore Majorana. Cronache d’infinite scomparse won the Opera Oggi International Competition. The event was founded in 2015, and promotes the “total” opera creation, including book, music and direction, by artists 35 years of age and under. In November 2015, the high-profile jury, led by Maestro Giorgio Battistelli, dubbed this the winning team: Roberto Vetrano (music), Stefano Simone Pintor (book), and Gregorio Zurla (set and costume design). 

ETTORE MAJORANA. Cronache d’infinite scomparse
Music by Roberto Vetrano
Libretto and direction by Stefano Simone Pintor
Scenes and costumes by Gregorio Zurla
Teatro Sociale di Como Orchestra
OperaLombardia Chorus
Conductor Jacopo Rivani 

Instrumentation: 1.bfl. 1.1.bcl. sax bar. bn.  / / timp. perc (2) acc.  harp piano keyboard / strings
Voices: s ms t bar b – actor,  mixte chorus

Credit images: Gregorio Zurla