Pagh-Paan: WP and the Berlin Art Prize 2020

Pagh-Paan: WP and the Berlin Art Prize 2020

Younghi Pagh-Paan receives the Grosser Berliner Kunstpreis (Berlin Art Prize) 2020. The prize is awarded annually by the Akademie der Künste Berlin and endowed with EUR 15,000.

Park Yang-wo, Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism Republic of Korea, congratulated the composer for winning the prize:

"It is both very meaningful and spectacular that composer (Pagh-Paan) is the first female and first Asian winner in the Berlin Art Prize's history," Park said, adding, "I hope that the composer passionately keeps promoting traditional Korean culture and art not only in Europe but also all over the world, and contributes to the promotion of musical composition and education."
Park Yang-wo (

Honoring the composer, the Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin performs a selection of Pagh-Paan’s works in a livestream concert on 10 June 2020, including a world premiere of her piece Mein Herz III for soprano and viola.

The portrait concert is available in the media library of Deutschlandfunk Kultur (please click "Beitrag hören" to start the stream)

Go to stream button


MAN-NAM I (1977)
for clarinet, violin, viola and cello
Duration: 15'

View score on nkoda

ma-am / Mein Herz

for female voice solo
based on a poem by Chung-Chul
Duration: 4'

View score on nkoda

U-MUL / The Well

for 7 instrumentalists
Duration: 7'

View score on nkoda

Mein Herz III

duo for soprano and viola
based on a poem by H. C. Artmann
World premiere

Horizont auf hoher See (2016)
for string quartet
Duration: 20'

View score on nkoda

Photo: Si-Chan Park