ricordilab is ramping up!

ricordilab is ramping up!

Last September, Ricordi Berlin selected three emerging composers for ricordilab 2019 to 2022. Since that time, Klartag, Shin and Streich have given us many exciting premieres, received new commissions and generated other news. Here is the latest on the ricordilab composers.

Yair Klartag: world premiere in Basel

In January, Yair Klartag’s Voglio e non vorrei had its world premiere at Basel’s Mizmorim Festival, dedicated this year to Lorenzo Da Ponte, the librettist of Mozart’s Don Giovanni. It was the famous duet for Zerlina and Don Giovanni from that immortal opera that inspired Klartag’s new work for wind sextet.

Voglio e non vorrei (2020)

for 2 clarinets, 2 horns and 2 bassoons
Duration: 9'
WP: wind sextet of the Musikhochschule Trossingen; 24.01.2020

Watch the world premiere of Voglio e non vorrei

Composer’s note
In the spirit of Harmoniemusik, Voglio e non vorrei reworks part of “Là ci darem la mano” for wind ensemble. Unlike that historical tradition, however, I have attempted to transcribe the duet’s expressive and psychological content rather than simply its melodies in order to realize a musical structure corresponding to Zerlina’s irrational submission to Giovanni’s seduction – a musical plot pulled in different directions which gradually exposes what lies beneath the initial evocative harmonies. In James Joyce’s Ulysses, Leopold Bloom misremembers the duet’s oxymoronic line “Vorrei e non vorrei” (I would like to, and I wouldn't): “Voglio e non vorrei. Wonder if she pronounces that right: voglio.” Later he notices his mistake: “Voglio e non vorrei. No: vorrei e non.” Bloom seems to confuse the line with Leporello’s words about his own unfulfilled aspirations: “Voglio far il gentiluomo, e non voglio più servir” (“I want to play the gentleman, And I don't want to serve anymore”). The irony in Joyce’s insertion of the quote adds to the contrasting forces that set the piece in motion.
— Yair Klartag

Donghoon Shin—one week at the Semperoper Dresden

Picture of Donghoon Shin at Semperoper Dresden
As associated partner of ricordilab, the Saxon State Opera of Dresden offered Donghoon Shin a special internship with exclusive behind-the-scenes experiences and networking opportunities. The composer tells us about his trip to Dresden in his diary.

Read diary

Donghoon Shin has also been busy working on several new commissions, including a violin concerto for Kristóf Baráti and the Pannon Philharmonic Orchestra of Pécs, Hungary, and a solo piece for the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group.

Concerto for violin and orchestra (2020) – – 3perc.timp – pf – hp –
WP: 12.11.2020, Pécs

Composer’s note
Concerto for violin and orchestra has been commissioned by the Pannon Philharmonic Orchestra with the generous support of the Peter Eötvös Music Foundation. It will be premiered by the violinist Kristóf Baráti and the orchestra under the baton of Boon-hua Lien on 12 November 2020 at the Kodály Centre in Pécs. The piece is a concerto about the concerto genre itself and its history.
— Donghoon Shin

Couplet for solo violin (2020)

Donghoon Shin was one of the first two composers to participate in Birmingham Contemporary Music Group’s new project “Soliloquies and Dialogues”, the goal of which is to support and promote creativity during these challenging times. Composers will write a piece for a solo artist and work with the musician solely via online tools. The world premiere of Donghoon Shin’s piece Couplet for solo violin will take place exclusively on digital channels. 

Composer’s note
Two miniatures for solo violin – Couplet for solo violin – have been commissioned by the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group for their online platform to be launched in May this year. The BCMG asked me to write the piece for their new concert series “Soliloquies and Dialogues” and I am happy that I can contribute with my ‘music’ in this difficult time.
— Donghoon Shin

Lisa Streich receives prize and new commission 

In April 2020, Lisa Streich won the first Composition Prize of the Claussen-Simon Foundation. In addition to €15,000, the composer received a commission for a new work to be performed by the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra under Alan Gilbert. The world premiere will take place during the final concert of next year's “Elbphilharmonie Visions” festival. In addition to this commission, Lisa Streich is working on several new pieces for Collegium Novum Zürich, Ensemble Musikfabrik and Quatuor Diotima.

Dr. Regina Back, the managing director of the Claussen-Simon Foundation:

"The Claussen-Simon Composition Prize provides an aspiring young female composer the rare opportunity of closely collaborating with a renowned symphony orchestra and a world-famous conductor in order to write a large-scale work and have it premiered in a major concert hall. We take pleasure in supporting the exciting and musically expressive artist Lisa Streich and look forward to her new work. She will be amassing valuable experience for her future career, helping her to establish herself as a composer in the world of music. We are glad to be able to accompany the genesis of her new work all the way up to its premiere."

Photos: Anne-Laure Lechat (Yair Klartag), Marco Loumiet (Donghoon Shin, title), Semperoper Dresden (Donghoon Shin at Semperoper), Manu Theobald (Lisa Streich)